The Punic Wars

As many of you know, I am a history student that has just started the second year of my three-year degree at University.
However, what you may not know is that for the longest time I thought myself nailed-on to study the classical world at tertiary level rather than the frankly broader subject of world history. I still have a particular zeal for the Greco-Roman world (that is ancient Greece and ancient Rome) and was pleasantly surprised to find that Extra Credits, a fantastic gaming/media commentary site I last referenced during my “Spec Ops: The Line” article have themselves decided to branch out and start doing commentaries on historical events.

First on their agenda are The Punic Wars (264 BC – 146 BC). The Punic Wars were a trilogy of wars fought between Carthage and Rome for dominance over the Mediterranean amongst other reasons. It’s not too much of a stretch to say that, for their time, the wars were THE largest conflicts fought in world history and arguably the largest until the late 16th century. Consider that for a moment, that’s almost two millenia. The series is still ongoing but I feel I should do my part in raising awareness for both my discipline and for the great work that the team at Extra Credits do. If history and the classical world are not your things I still suggest you check out their other videos. They are seven seasons in now and there is a good chance they have covered something you will find interesting.

Without further delay!

Leave a Reply

