Latin… Bloody Latin…

RomeIf you follow my posts frequently you might have gathered that not only do I have a fondness for the classical world but also for philosophy and proverbs from every end of the earth.
Here I have compiled a collection of what I feel are some of the best proverbs from Ancient Rome. Some of these you may recognize by their modern-day English adaptations!

“Deos fortioribus adesse”  – “The gods are on the side of the stronger”
Make your own destiny, be strong and fortune will find you.

“Caelum, non animum, mutant, qui trans mare currunt” – “Those who run off to sea change their climate but not their mind”
No matter where you go you are still yourself.

“Optimum est pati quod emendare non possis”  – “It is best to endure what you cannot change”
If you can’t change something, don’t try to, instead work on what you can change.

“Si vis pacem, para bellum” – “If you wish for peace, prepare for war”
A bit of a dark one this but it speaks for itself. The pen is mightier than the sword but one must keep a sword close by in case the pen fails.

“Carpe Deim” – “Seize the Day”
Forget all of those morons screaming “YOLO LOL” at the top of their lungs, this is the original version said by Horace himself.

“Veni, vidi, vici” – “I came, I saw, I conquered”
This is a famous one, spoken by Gaius Julius Caesar. I think its’ hard to tell which version of this immortal saying is the punchier, Latin or English?

“Ancipiti plus ferit ense gula” – “Gluttony kills more than the sword; Wine has drowned more than the sea”
Very cynical one but still resounding.

“In vino veritas” – “There is truth in wine”
Better known as its’ modern variation “A drunken word is a sober thought”.

“Dulcis Domus” – “Sweet Home”
“Home Sweet Home” is what many known this as but I prefer the Italian version of “Casa Dolce Casa”.

 

I’ll probably end up doing a post about the best proverbs of other cultures as well in the near future.
Until then, signing off!

One comment

  1. I remember the second one quite well… I can still feel the disappointment from my high school Latin teacher.

    Also, thank you for hating YOLO. I’m glad someone else in the civilized world takes issue with poorly thought out text speak adaptations making their way into the English language.

    Sorry I’ve fallen behind. Your posts make me actually use my brain to think of coherent responses… which are usually not things I can conjure at this hour after work. This weekend holds promise and I saw you did a post on something Medieval, so I shall return.

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

